Shadow Play

I recently started working on my collage work again. I like telling stories or attempting to create narratives through the collage work that I do. Sometimes i have a theme and sometimes I just experiment to see what can be created organically.

I created this one late night this week. I set up my gear preparing for a portrait shoot. Lights, background, and camera on a tripod.  But instead of standing in front of the linen background, I stood behind it and set the lights up behind me. This cast an large shadow on the natural linen fabric.

This sounds straight forward, but on a VERY warm May night on the east coast it involved tripping over wires and cats, sweating in front of large, hot lights and lots of frustration in getting the right position before the camera timer took the shot. Sweat and tears and then an hour of looking at the images and trying to combine them in an interesting way. It’s good practice for the creative mind but experimenting with something new is fun but can be incredibly frustrating!

So…shadows. I think I can see potential. It’s an idea. Something I need to perfect. I’m going to return to this idea this week and attempt to get some more shadow shots. For now, I simple share this collage.

“Gift” 2015.

Have a great weekend everyone! I’m getting ready for a weekend of work work work! How about you?! Hope you make it a good one!

Tessa
Screen Shot 2015-05-26 at 10.16.09 PM

Leave a Reply

