Gatherings- Side project made of linen

Linens for special gatherings.

Gatherings is what I’m naming this new undertaking. It was born out of my desire to have fabric napkins I could use when I had guests over for gatherings. Paper towels and little cloths work just fine, but I’m a maker! I can make napkins.

Determined, I wanted to create a napkin that I could use for gathering and I wanted to use my favorite fabric; LINEN! Linen is a beautiful cloth often used and worn in the summertime because it keeps the body cool and fresh.  Linen is clean and simple. It’s natural and earthy.

So my sewing machine has been kept busy sewing linens to create napkins and tea towels but I’ve also been creating half aprons, full length aprons and kitchen towels as well. I hand dye the fabric to match moods and personalities and decor. Cloth napkins add a nice touch to a sweet dinner or gathering for tea or coffee. It adds a pop of color and handmade feel.

My hope is to push this to the maxwith organic linens and natural dyes but for now I’m having a lot of fun experimenting, designing and creating.

So here’s to linen and gatherings both big and small.

Come see my etsy shop! gathertextiles.etsy.com

Sky Blue Napkins1

Summer tea towel

Screen Shot 2014-12-27 at 11.23.18 AM

Sky Blue Napkins tied up with a bow

Napkins

Sky Blue Napkins

Sky Blue Napkins 4

Summer tea towel2

Summer tea towel 3
cups

Leave a Reply

