Inspiration Wednesday! C|E|R|E|AL magazine- Travel and lifestyle

There is so much that inspires me these days and I wanted a way to share some of my daily and new influences with you! I was having a chat with my good friend Alia, from  Say Things with Color about blogging and artistic influences.

I am influenced every day by little things but also by larger things and these days by collaborative work by people working in different mediums and fields. I have been searching for blogs and magazines that are in line with my way of thinking and seem to line up with the way that I see the world. I am always looking for new ways to see and capture the world around me.

I was at Terrain at Styers this past Monday in Glen Mills, PA and found a new magazine to obsess over! If you haven’t heard of Terrain I URGE you to check out their website at least. If you are in Pennsylvania you should make a stop and pick up a sweet plant and admire the decor and gorgeous terrarium house with containers and plants for creating terrariums!

Terrain is a unique place that combines gardening, outdoor living and house and home goods focused around entertaining. They had a handful of magazines that they sell from outside sources. One magazine I discovered and fell in love with standing in the middle of the store was C|E|R|E|A|L. This magazine is a quarterly magazine about travel and lifestyle.

Vol1_cover

C|E|R|E|A|L also has a neat blog too and they even post their own inspirations which is….well…inspiring!

I love traveling and I love travel photography and sometimes I ponder on how I could showcase my travel photography in an interesting and unique way. C|E|R|E|A|L did this in a beautiful way on their website.

On their website they took four images from each city they visited in October and presented them in two column blocks. It is clean and smooth and gorgeous to look at and enjoy.

travelsnew

An image from C|E|R|E|A|L magazines Travels in October blog post. Check out their website and blog!

The thing that I like most about this magazine and what catches my eye in print and in photography in general is a clean, simple, minimalist…or edited look. I like that everything is taken into account in the frame when the photographers take their images. Each detail is thought out and considered. They seem to edit the composition before shooting to capture only what is necessary to tell a story.

It inspired me to think about my images from my travels to Alaska and which images work best with each other. How can I best tell a story of a place using just a few images side by side. I think this will be handy next time I am out shooting and thinking about how to tell a story about the place I am…in just a few simple, well thought out images.

Keeping it simple and elegant,

Tessa

Alaksa. North and South.

Alaksa. North and South.

What inspires you? Drop a note to say hello! 

Leave a Reply

