Digital Collages and Designing Book Covers.

In my personal time I like to design book covers for books. These are a few that I’ve put together using some of my personal photographic collage work. My collage work is always digital and the images are pieced together using photographs of mine with the intention of telling or  creating a story. The stories are constructed by pulling ideas and stories from literature, art history, world history, mythologies, music and film. I also create collages that pull from personal and family histories.

Onto the books! These are excellent and I must say heavy reads and you should totally read them!

Benediction by Kent Haruf– Haruf is a much-loved author of mine. His books are, at the heart,  about simple and honest people living their lives in the best way they know. His books remind me of Raymond Carver stories, in their quiet manner and stark scenery and language. There is so much humanity in Haruf’s writing and he is able to capture dialogue and the way people communicate in such an honest, real way.

Eventide by Kent Haruf is a story about people. Simply put. One review says the following about this book and I have to agree it sums it up simply. “Eventide unveils the immemorial truths about human beings: their fragility and resilience, their selfishness and goodness, and their ability to find family in one another.”

The Road by Cormac McCarthy is  a well-known book thanks to the movie that was released in 2009. This is an post-apocalyptic  story about a father and son and the obstacles they face on a daily basis. I read this book when I was much younger and didn’t enjoy it. I should read it again to see if my opinions have changed as I’ve aged.

Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor. If you have not read this book or any of Flannery O’Connors’ stories, do yourself a favor. However stark and striking and mostly depressing, O’Connors’ writing is one of a kind. More often than not, O’Connor  leaves you flabbergasted, staring at the page in wonder at the way she ties ideas together or at the characters she creates in her short stories. Her haunting characters remain with you long after her stories end and Hazel Motes (the main character in Wise Blood) is certainly one of those characters.

 

I ask you readers…..what are your favorite books? (I’d love some ideas for new book designs to work on; )

 

eventide2

 

the road

 

wiseblood

2 thoughts on “Digital Collages and Designing Book Covers.

Leave a Reply

